Minutes of February 26, 2018

Town of Sullivan, NH 
Board of Selectmen
Meeting Minutes, February 26, 2018
Sullivan Town Hall

Board members present: Chairman Laura Merrifield, Joe Lewandowski and Jeff Burbank

Department Heads/Officers: Fire Chief Al Henry, Deputy Fire Chief Mike Blanchard and Budget Committee Chairman Al Merrifield

Staff: Kate Fuller, Administrative Assistant

Public: Robert Diluzio Jr. 

CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Laura Merrifield called the meeting to order at 5:30pm. 


Non-Public for the purpose of personnel-At 5:30 pm Laura Merrifield made a motion, seconded by Jeff Burbank to adjourn the regular meeting and enter into non-public session. The non-public session was closed at 6:30 pm and the regular meeting was reconvened.

Advanced Life Support discussion-Discussion ensued about the need for a backup contract with the Keene Fire Department to provide paramedic service if one is not available through the primary provider, Diluzio Ambulance Service. Two calls where paramedics were not available at the beginning of a call were reviewed. Jeff Burbank suggested that the funds for the possible unpaid calls and intercept fees be placed in an account that could hold those funds until needed on a rolling basis. Laura Merrifield will talk to the DRA and see if that is a possibility. The Fire Department is in favor of this additional expense being added to the budget and asked by what mechanism that could occur. Laura Merrifield stated that it is part of the Selectman’s budget and that it could be addressed during the discussion on that portion of the budget at the Town Meeting. 

Adoption of Minutes-Jeff Burbank made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 20, 2018 meeting, seconded by Joe Lewandowski. The minutes were unanimously approved. Jeff Burbank made a motion to approve the non-public minutes of the February 20, 2018 meeting, seconded by Joe Lewandowski. The minutes were unanimously approved. 

Acknowledgement of Financial Reports and adjusting expenses-January 2018-Acknowledged and signed by the Board.

Payroll, Vendor Payments and Purchase Orders-Purchase orders and manifest approved as submitted.

Raffle Permit for signature-Raffle Permit for the Congregationalist Church signed by Board. 

Miscellaneous/General Discussion-Two NHMA legislative bulletins, received. Invitation from SWRPC for the winter meeting at Scores Bar in Keene on March 12th at 4:30pm, received. Road Weight restriction notice reviewed. Kate will have the notice run in the Keene Sentinel. Anonymous dog complaint, Kate referred it to the Sheriff. An abatement was received for 96 Ferry Brook Road. Kate let the Board know that she would be late on Wednesday the 7th because of an appointment. Three properties submitted their report of cut with no cut. Letter from the DOT about a temporary driveway permit, received. Kate will contact Leslie Casey Planning Board Chair to ask her to contact the DOT so that the Town can get notification when permits are received by the DOT. Letter from the DES with a 90 day construction approval extension notice for 95 Boyton Road, received. Letter from the NH Department of Health and Human Services regarding veterans’ housing, received. Copy of bankruptcy dismissal order for 101 Gilsum Road, received. 

Board of Selectmen-General Discussion-Laura Merrifield distributed drafts of the Town report dedication, Highway abridged report and a small addition to the Selectman’s report. Jeff Burbank reported that the driveway that he was concerned about was drained. The March 7th Planning Board meeting was discussed and Jeff Burbank will attend; timely receipt of Planning Board minutes was also discussed briefly. Coverage at the voting polls was discussed; Joe Lewandowski will cover 11am-2pm and Laura Merrifield will cover 2pm-7pm. The Board decided to revisit the Road Agent applicants at the next regular meeting. 

MOTION: Laura Merrifield moved to adjourn the meeting at 8:17 pm.
SECOND: Jeff Burbank

APPROVED: Unanimously approved.

Respectfully Submitted,

Katherine M. Fuller
Administrative Assistant for the Board of Selectmen